Tills Visa Law

Stephen K. Tills, Attorney at LAW

The new electronic I-94

U.S. Customs & Border Protection announced this week (Dec.20, 2016)  that they will be issuing electronic I-94 cards to visitors rather than paper forms going forward.  An I-94 form is needed by all persons except U.S. Citizens, returning resident aliens, aliens with immigrant visas, and most Canadian citizens visiting or in transit. Air and Sea travelers will be issued I-94s during the admission process at the port of entry (including airport pre-flight inspection stations).
ADVANTAGE
An advantage of this new policy is that travelers can access their I-94 and travel history for the past 5 years online. This allows the traveler to print out the information and store it on their mobile devices.

HOW IT WORKS:
As set forth on the CBP website:
(1) The I-94 land border automation will allow travelers to speed their entry into the United States by submitting I-94 applications and paying the $6 fee online prior to their arrival at the port of entry.

(2) The On-line I-94 application will collect information that previously was  collected in-person at the land border port of entry, to include biographic information (name, date of birth, country of citizenship), passport details, visa details (if applicable), and petition/Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVIS) number (if applicable).

After submitting an online application for the I-94 and paying the associated fees, travelers must present themselves at a land border port of entry within seven days of the form being submitted to complete the issuance process.

This system replaces the previous paper I-94 process for air and sea travel into the U.S..  Rather than distributing a paper Form I-94, Customs and Border Protection (CBP) will scan a traveler’s passport, generating an electronic arrival record with data elements found on the current paper Form I-94.  CBP will make the electronic I-94 available on the website.

SAMPLE I-94 ON-LINE FORM
us_electronici94

 

Comments are closed.

